Decision To Remove Implants

Little history, I was diagnosed with breast cancer in 2015 with the guidance of my doctors we decided to remove both breast with reconstruction. Received my implants in 2016 and later in 2016 the implants were replaced with smaller size. Fast forward to 2019 and 2020, why the decision to have the implants removed. From 2016 to 2019 I was always experiencing discomfort which my doctors assumed it was the aftermath from chemo and/or scar tissue. Sometimes you have to step back and evaluate your health for yourself. What I noticed since receiving my implants not only was I experiencing a lot of discomfort in my breast areas I was dealing with fatigue, joint pain, limb numbness/tingling, ringing in my ears, sharp pain in my breast area, swollen lymph nodes, heart palpitation, digestive issues, dry skin, nauseous when I was having discomfort, and inflammation. Have you heard of BII(Breast Implant Illness)? I didn’t until 2019 and realized the symptoms I was experiencing were listed as having BII. In 2019 my doctor and I decided to have the implants removed, they were removed in January 2020. Let me tell you, the day after the surgery my eyes looked clearer and as time went by my skin was no longer dry. To be honest, I am glad the implants were removed, however, once the bandage was removed and I saw my flat chest with sunken in areas and the incisions it was very emotional. My daughter and I took pictures as part of my journaling. As time have gone by I have embraced it, kind of empowering because I survived, will continue to survive, and I have a story to tell to help someone with their cancer journey. It’s now 11 days since the removal of the implants, I know I am still in the healing process both mentally and physically but I don’t regret my decision. Post-op appointment is soon and hopefully my drainage tubes will be removed. Oh, when having implants removed drainage tubes are necessary. When I had my breasts removed I had four(two on each side), this time I only came home with two(one on each side). I am not going to post pictures, not ready yet. Moving forward, get to know and listen to your body.

**I survived

Decision To Remove Implants

Leave a comment